This High School Student Wasn’t Happy

about an assigned project (language alert):

Basically, this thread is about stupid projects you’ve been assigned. I’ll start by telling one i’ve been given today.

Today, my stupid, mentally unstable History teacher had us do a fucking elementary school project. We were supposed to build a castle out of cardboard boxes. This sounds like something you’d give to a 4th or 5th grade class. Hell, I actually was assigned such a project back then. Definitely not something you’d give to a classroom of 9th and 10th grade students. How are we even supposed to get this trash to school?

In other words, i’m prolly not doing this thing.

He drew this response from someone else:

One of my final projects in school, in my English class had to do with the book, Invisible Man. We first had to write an essay about what we basically thought the main character was. We had to describe him basically. And along with that was a collage that was supposed to basically be the visual version of the essay. We had to go through magazines, cut out pics that we thought described the main character and post them on a poster so that it made a collage. Pretty creative project, huh?
Well, being the person I am, in the essay I decided to say that Invisible Man couldn’t be described, that he was some sort of enigma. People who’ve read this book will probably be able to agree with me because if you read the book, you’ll be able to see that the main character always changes who he is. At one point, he is an ass-kissing college student, at another, he his a some sort of hobo wandering aimlessly, and then he turns into some sort of leader, and some other things too. Rather than actually say all of those things, I thought that saying that he was just simply a mystery and truly unidentifiable would be the best way to put it. I mean hell, that’s creative and a hell of a way to think outside of the box.

So that’s what I said in the essay. On the collage, I put nothing on it. Why? Because like I said, he is unidentifiable, and there was no use trying to identify him. So I turned in the collage not blank, but full of unidentifiable objects (that’s the way I saw it at least).

A couple of days later, my teacher told me that she understood why I did what I did, but “it’s kinda hard to grade a collage with nothing on it.”

So basically, she knows that I’m thinking outside the box, but it’s not worth a decent grade.

What did I learn that day? Don’t do unconventional things and expect a conventional result.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This High School Student Wasn’t Happy

  1. Ann in L.A. says:

    I’d say that’s not the lesson learned. He (or she) learned the lesson to do a stupid assignment in the stupid manner the stupid teacher meant it, and not to dare think about things so deeply that he understood just how stupid it all is. Play dumb, play nice, and play pretend. If the teacher had graded his creative poster positively, it would have destroyed the regimen of mind-numbing conformity and given her more work to do–she couldn’t just check off the task on the rubric. She would have been forced to think, too.

Leave a Reply

